Strasbourg : relaunch of the European Parliament "Spinelli Group"


A group of over 70 MEPs from different countries and political groups have signed-up to re-launch the parliamentary group of the "Spinelli Group", which held its first meeting yesterday in the European Parliament in Strasbourg.  Named after Altiero Spinelli, the federalist politician, former MEP and Commissioner considered one of the founding fathers of European unity, the Group gathers the federalist and most fervent pro-integration members of the European Parliament.
The parliamentary group will be jointly chaired by Elmar Brok, EPP, Chairman of the Foreign Affairs Committee and President of the Union of European Federalists, and Jo Leinen, S&D, President of the European Movement International. The board includes also the MEPs Guy Verhofstadt (ALDE), Sylvie Goulard (ALDE), Danuta Hübner (PPE), Mercedes Bresso (S&D) and Ulrike Lunacek (Greens).

In its Manifesto the Group declares:
“Today things are moving towards a looser rather than a closer Union. Too often the Community spirit is forgotten in favour of short-term national interests. And too often intergovernmental solutions prevail over real European solutions. We oppose this backward and reactionary direction.
It is time to bring a common European approach back to the forefront. This is not the moment for Europe to slow down further integration, but on the contrary to accelerate it. The European Union’s history has time again proven that more Europe, not less, is the answer to the problems we face. Only with European solutions and a renewed European spirit will we be able to tackle the worldwide challenges. National solutions are solutions of the past.
Our goal is a federal and post-national Europe, a Europe of the citizens. This was the dream the founding fathers worked so hard to achieve. This was the project of Altiero Spinelli. This is the Europe we want. This is the Europe we will fight for. Because this is the Europe of the future”.